Redistricting forces out 5 Iowa Senators

Des Moines Examiner (IA) - Thursday, February 2, 2012
Five Iowa Senators resigned their posts Wednesday as a result of the state’s redistricting. Redistricting placed the five outgoing Senators in the same district with another Senator. Rather than run for election in two years, the departing Senators choose to resign. 

Republicans Jim Seymour (Woodbine) and Robert Bacon (Maxwell) handed their seats over to fellow Republicans Nancy Boettger (Harlan) and Bill Dix (Shell Rock). Democrat Tom Hancock, who is expected to retire, gave way to fellow Democrat Tod Bowman (Maqouketa). The two other districts saw party turnover. Democrat Jack Kibbie (Emmetsburg) forfeited his seat to Republican David Johnson (Ocheyedan) and Republican Pat Ward surrendered her seat to Democrat Matt McCoy. Both Ward and Kibbie faced difficult reelection campaigns. While Hancock is planning to retire, the other four outgoing may choose to run for another spot in the Senate or in the House.